Swedish Open 2015

Serena Williams vs Ysaline Bonaventure

Serena Williams vs Ysaline Bonaventure

Do you know that tournament that Horia won 3 times in a row? No, no, not Bucharest, the other one, the one in Båstad. Well, after being so close and yet so far to make it there last year, this year I threw myself in a complete two weeks tennis experience. Nearly three weeks ago I found myself riding a train out of Stockholm for the first time and going to a part of Sweden I only knew from the tournament’s pictures.

Pepe's Bodega

Pepe’s Bodega

Båstad is an experience as a whole. Though tennis was my main focus, the ladies during the first week and the men during the second, it was practically impossible to ignore what was going on around like I do during the tennis weeks in Bucharest or Stockholm. Soon after arriving there I realized that I find myself in a place that combines two things: one that I absolutely love, one of my biggest passions if not the biggest: tennis, and the sea, which is in itself a beautiful thing. Watching tennis matches and looking at the sea in between the points couldn’t be described in other way than a perfect combination. And though I am not a party person I did visit Pepe’s Bodega.

Sam Stosur

Sam Stosur

To make it short, my trip to Båstad involved a lot of hard work, team work and lots of fun. It was the first time I was in a place so close to tennis for such a long time: two weeks. Every time I got a free moment I was either watching the matches, sitting on the beach in the sun or admiring sunsets. And I think I got a little bit of everything. In the girls tournament I was more than happy to see Samantha Stosur and Serena Williams play.

Johanna Larsson

Johanna Larsson

Unfortunately Serena pulled out but the tournament went on and ended in the most beautiful way possible: Sweden’s Johanna Larsson took both the singles and the double’s crown. Her matches in both the semifinals and the finals were very beautiful since everyone there just cheered for her, clapped and enjoyed.

Robredo vs Mathieu

Robredo vs Mathieu

The men’s week was a bit more complicated, mostly because of the weather. It got a little bit colder and it rained a lot, though I still managed to get sun burnt. With David Ferrer pulling out with an injury, the attention went on to Almagro, Robredo and the no 1 seed Goffin. The surprise of the tournament was young Alexander Zverev who made it all the way to the semifinals. The final was between Tommy Robredo and Benoit Paire, and in the end the French player lifted his first ATP trophy. My joy was to watch doubles.

Chardy/Kubot vs Cabal/Farah

Chardy/Kubot vs Cabal/Farah

Of course, as always, ever since he’s played with Horia, I always enjoy watching Robert Lindstedt play and if he is not playing against any of our boys, I cheer for him and wish he wins. This time he teamed up with Johan Brunström reforming the valuable Swedish Davis Cup doubles team. I only got to see their first round match, it was quite tricky but they made it to the second round. Their second match I couldn’t see and unfortunately it was also their last match in this year’s tournament. Even so, I kept my eyes on the doubles and enjoyed a beautiful final between two good teams Chardy/Kubot (saw them before in Bucharest) and Cabal/Farah.

Of course on the last day though I was tired and really felt like going home to Stockholm, I was so sad it was over and wished I had at least a few more days of tennis to enjoy. It is never enough, not for me at least.

Benoit Paire

Benoit Paire

Besides enjoying the game, I also enjoyed the amazing company I had. As always I was more than happy to spend my days with great people, some that I already knew, some I just met. One group of very pleasant and different personalities can lead into creating a great team to hang around for so long with. Can’t wait to meet them again. Thank you so much for the time spent together.

Of course I am going to end my post with a song, the one they used for every match when the ball boys and girls entered the tennis court. Game, set, match, championship: Johanna Larsson, Johanna Larsson/Kiki Bertens and Benoit Paire, Jeremy Chardy/Lukasz Kubot.

 

About Diana

Rock concerts & tennis.
This entry was posted in Away, English, Tennis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Swedish Open 2015

  1. Pingback: Swedish Open 2017 | Befalling

Leave a Reply

